0300 303 2536

Police Policy on Electronic Security Systems

The ACPO Unified Intruder Alarm Policy has been adopted by the police, in which two types of alarms are defined, together with the relevant police response.

* Type A - Remote Signalling Alarms, including intruder alarms terminating at approved central monitoring stations. They must be maintained and used in accordance with British Standard 4737/BS EN 50131, BS 7042 (high security systems) or BS 6799 Class VI (wire-free alarms). Such alarms will be registered with the police and identified by a unique reference number (URN) and can include personal attack alarms (Some police forces may make a separate charge for additional URN for Personal Alarm). The police response to their activation will be based on the assumption that an offence is taking place, but against the background of competing urgent calls and available resources. Such a response will also be conditional upon the number of false activations in any 12 month period, in which case the activation may receive a lower priority police attendance.

* Type B - Audible Only and Hybrid Alarms, including bells-only and automatic dialling alarms, as well as alarms from non-compliant companies and non-compliant central stations. URNs will not be issued for these systems. To obtain police attendance, in addition to their activation Type B alarms will also require some indication that an offence is in progress, e.g. from a witness.

For an installation Company such as ourselves to install a Police Compliant monitored INTRUDER ALARM, we have to become compliant with this policy and apply to each individual Force in whose area we wish to work to be allowed to install such systems within their area. Currently we have sought and obtained compliancy in the following Police Areas:

1. Avon & Somerset
2. Bedfordshire Police
3. Cambridgeshire Constabulary
4. Cheshire Constabulary
5. Devon & Cornwall Constabulary
6. Dorset Police
7. Essex Police
8. Gloucestershire Constabulary
9. Hampshire Constabulary
10. Hertfordshire Constabulary
11. Kent County Constabulary
12. Lancashire Constabulary
13. Leicestershire Police
14. Greater Manchester Police
15. Merseyside Police
16. Metropolitan Police (London)
17. Norfolk Constabulary
18. Northamptonshire Police
19. Nottinghamshire Police
20. South Yorkshire Police
21. Suffolk Constabulary
22. Surrey Police
23. Sussex Police
24. Thames Valley Police
25. West Midlands Police
26. Wiltshire Police

Call us now to discuss your requirements
or complete our request contact form and we will contact you at a convenient time.


ITS Security Home


Call us now to discuss your requirements

0300 303 2536

or complete our request contact form
and we will contact you at a convenient time.

Privacy & Cookie Policy

0300 303 2536